FVB Executive Board and Members

The Executive Board of FVB comprises the Scientific Director from each of the eight institutes and the Managing Director (pursuant to § 7 (1) of the FVB Statutes). The Federal State of Berlin, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Institute Directors and the Managing Director are Members of FVB.

Presidium of the Board

Dr. Manuela Urban

Managing Director of the FVB

Professor Dr. Volker Haucke

Executive Board Spokesman, Director at the FMP

Professor Dr. Michael Hintermüller

Deputy Executive Board Spokesman, Director of the WIAS

Other Members of the Executive Board

Professor Dr. Günther Tränkle

Director of the FBH

Professor Dr. Dorothea Fiedler

Director at the FMP

Professor Dr. Mark Gessner

Acting Director of the IGB

Professor Dr. Thomas Schröder

Director of the IKZ

Professor Dr. Heribert Hofer

Director of the IZW

Professor Dr. Thomas Elsässer

Director at the MBI

Professor Dr. Stefan Eisebitt

Director at the MBI

Professor Dr. Marc Vrakking

Director at the MBI

Professor Dr. Henning Riechert

Director of the PDI

Members of FVB

Federal State of Berlin

represented by the Senate Department for Economy, Technology and Research (at the general meetings represented by Frau Dr. Jutta Koch-Unterseher)

Federal Republic of Germany

represented by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (at the general meetings represented by: N.N.)

Institute Directors

FBH: Prof. Dr. Günther Tränkle
FMP: Prof. Dr. Dorothea Fiedler, Prof. Dr. Volker Haucke
IGB: Prof. Dr. Mark Gessner (acting)
IKZ: Prof. Dr. Thomas Schröder
IZW: Prof. Dr. Heribert Hofer
MBI: Prof. Dr. Thomas Elsässer, Prof. Dr. Stefan Eisebitt, Prof. Dr. Marc Vrakking
PDI: Prof. Dr. Henning Riechert
WIAS: Prof. Dr. Michael Hintermüller

Managing Director of FVB

Dr. Manuela Urban

Board of Trustees

Pursuant to § 10 (1) of the statutes of FVB, the members of the Board of Trustees are as follows:

Representatives from the Federal State of Berlin

Senate Councillor
Dr. Jutta Koch-Unterseher (Chair)

Senate Department for Economics, Technology and Research
Head Dept. III

Representatives from the Federal Government


Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Scientific Members

Professor Dr. Alfred Forchel

University of Würzburg

Professor Dr. Karin Lochte

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung

Professor Dr. Joachim Wieland

Deutsche Universität für Verwaltungswissenschaften Speyer

Professor Dr. Ilme Schlichting

Max Planck Institut for Medical Research

Members from the Business Sector

Gabi Grützner

micro resist technology GmbH

Dr. Rainer Hammerschmidt


Dr. Thomas Zettler

Laytec GmbH

University Representatives

Professor Dr.-Ing. Dr. Sabine Kunst

Humboldt University of Berlin

Statutes & Position Paper

Statutes of the Forschungsverbund Berlin

Position Paper of the Forschungsverbund Berlin