Our Understanding

The institutes under the umbrella of the Forschungsverbund (FVB) consider knowledge and technology transfer (KTT) to be a key element of their work. KTT enables business and society to understand, use and exploit research results.

As such, KTT serves as an interface between science, society, business and politics. This applies in equal measure to basic research and application-oriented research.

Within FVB, knowledge and technology transfer encompasses activities that transfer knowledge, technologies, expertise and resources to a variety of target groups; that promote the exchange of knowledge and ideas with these target groups; and that facilitate their commercial exploitation, where appropriate. Activities range from technology transfer and the provision of infrastructures to political and social consulting.

Target groups for transfer activities include:

  • Business (licenses under patents, spin-offs, contract research and services to enterprises)
  • Policy (political consulting, involvement in political bodies, expert opinions)
  • Specific stakeholders (consulting, dialogue, discussion forums).

Each FVB institute is responsible for its own individual KTT strategy and for screening its research results to identify their potential for transfer. Each institute has established appropriate structures and processes to achieve this. Besides engaging in KTT, all institutes disseminate knowledge to a wide public by undertaking public relations.

Besides carrying out transfer activities for their respective FVB institute, FVB Transfer Officers also assist the Leibniz Association in advancing its transfer activities and global strategies. This is undertaken primarily within the Knowledge Transfer Working Group.

Information about the institutes’ transfer activities is available on their websites:

  • Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP)
  • Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
  • Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ)
  • Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research (IZW)
  • Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy (MBI)
  • Paul Drude Institute for Solid State Electronics (PDI)
  • Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics (WIAS)